Manage Money

Holidays in Tripura in India

Holidays are happy times that call for relaxation, enjoyment and spending quality time with friends and family. India is known for its multitude of holidays. Being a secular country, India is home to several religions that celebrate different festivals. The holiday structure in government organizations differs from that of private companies. Sunday is a regular holiday for all workplaces. Some private companies have holidays on both Saturday and Sunday, whereas Government organizations are mostly open on Saturdays. Banks usually remain closed on two Saturdays in a month and remain open on the other two. There are three national holidays in India when all organizations remain closed; these are Republic day on 26th January, Independence Day on 15th August and Gandhi Jayanti on 2nd October. Apart from these, there are regional and restricted holidays which vary from state to state. This page aims to keep you informed about the different holidays in the state of Tripura.

About Tripura

Tripura is a state in the north-eastern part of India. It shares a border with Bangladesh. It was ruled by the Tripuri dynasty for a very long time and has thus derived its name from it. The city lies in the lap of five mountain ranges called Boromura, Atharamura, Shakhan, Longtharai, and Jampui Hills and the capital of this state is Agartala. A lot of Bengali immigrants live in Tripura. The state has a population of around 36 million residents, who speak in Bengali, Kokborok, and Engish.

List of Tripura Holidays in 2019

Date Day Holiday Celebrated
10 Feb Sunday Vasant Panchami In several states
23 Jan Wednesday Birth Anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose In a few states
26 Jan Saturday Republic Day Across the country
4 Mar Monday Maha Shivratri In several states
21 Mar Thursday Holi In several states
19 Apr Friday Good Friday In several states
1 Apr Monday Bank Holiday Across the country
13 Apr Saturday Biju festival Across Tripura
15 Apr Monday Bengali New Year In a few states
22 Apr Monday Garia Puja Across Tripura
18 May Saturday Buddha Purnima In a few states
1 May Wednesday May Day In several states
9 May Thursday Rabindranath Tagore's Birth Anniversary In a few states
24 May Friday Birth Anniversary of Kazi Nazrul Islam Across Tripura
5 Jun Wednesday Eid al-Fitr In several states
10 Jul Wednesday Kharchi Puja Across Tripura
23 Jul Tuesday Ker Puja Across Tripura
15 Aug Thursday Independence Day Across the country
12 Aug Monday Eid al-Adha In several states
10 Sep Tuesday Muharram In several states
2 Oct Wednesday Birth Anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi Across the country
28 Sep Saturday Mahalaya In a few states
5 Oct Saturday Maha Saptami In several states
6 Oct Sunday Durgashtami In several states
7 Oct Monday Maha Navami In several states
8 Oct Tuesday Dussehra In several states
8 Oct Tuesday Durga Puja Holiday Across Tripura
27 Oct Sunday Lakshmi Puja In a few states
28 Oct Monday Diwali In several states
10 Nov Sunday Eid-e-Milad In several states
25 Dec Wednesday Christmas Day In several states

Tripura Bank Holidays in 2019

Date Day Holiday
10 Feb Sunday Vasant Panchami
23 Jan Wednesday Birth Anniversary of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose
26 Jan Saturday Republic Day
1 Apr Monday Annual closing of bank accounts
15 Apr Monday Bengali New Year
22 Apr Monday Garia Puja
1 May Wednesday May Day
5 Jun Wednesday Eid al-Fitr
10 Jul Wednesday Kharchi Puja
23 July Tuesday Ker Puja
15 Aug Thursday Independence Day
12 Aug Monday Eid al-Adha
11 Sep Tuesday Muharram
2 Oct Wednesday Birth Anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi
28 Sep Saturday Mahalaya
5 Oct Saturday Maha Saptami
6 Oct Sunday Durgashtami
7 Oct Monday Maha Navami
8 Oct Tuesday Dussehra
27 Oct Sunday Lakshmi Puja
28 Oct Monday Diwali
25 Dec Wednesday Christmas Day

 

Note: Banks have holidays on second and fourth Saturdays too.

Popular Festivals/Holidays in Tripura

Tripura's culture is quite similar to that of West Bengal and thus the state mostly celebrates all popular Bengali festivals. Durgapuja is the biggest festival in Tripura, grandly celebrated over a period of ten days. Garia puja, Ganga Puja, Kharchi puja and Ker puja are typical festivals of Tripura.

The Importance of Knowing the Tripura Holidays in 2019

Apart from the three National Holidays, each state has different regional festivals and holidays. It is important to be aware of the holidays of each state as it can help one plan effectively. People living within the state can plan their vacations or travel itineraries ahead if they know about the holiday dates. People living outside the state can accordingly book their travel tickets if they know about the holiday dates of the state where he or she wishes to travel. Residents will get to know when the banks and the government offices will remain closed. Moreover, a little more knowledge is of no harm and it is always good to be enlightened.

 

 

Get your free Credit report that cost  Rs 1200 for FREE

1. Build your Credit Score

2. Reduce your Current Borrowing / EMI Costs