Manage Money

List of Holidays in Bihar 2019

Holidays are happy times that call for relaxation, enjoyment and spending quality time with friends and family. India is known for its multitude of holidays. Being a secular country, India is home to several religions that celebrate different festivals. The holiday structure in government organizations differs from that of private companies. Sunday is a regular holiday for all workplaces. Some private companies have holidays on both Saturday and Sunday, whereas Government organizations are mostly open on Saturdays. Banks usually remain closed on two Saturdays in a month and remain open on the other two. There are three national holidays in India when all organizations remain closed; these are Republic day on 26th Jan, Independence Day on 15th Aug and Gandhi Jayanti on 2nd Oct. Apart from these, there are regional and restricted holidays which vary from state to state. This page aims to keep you informed about the different holidays in the state of Bihar.

About Bihar

Bihar is an Indian state in the eastern part of the country. The regions of Mithila, Magadh, and Bhojpur combine to mark the territorial boundaries of this state. Patna is the capital city of Bihar and the state's largest city as well. The state has a population in excess of 103 million. While Hindi is the official language, Urdu and Maithili are widely used in many areas. The region was earlier a seat of ancient education as it hosted the Nalanda and Vikramshila universities. Currently, it is the fastest growing state in terms of GDSP or gross state domestic product. The state's economy depends mainly upon agriculture and several industries such as IT and Finance. Although a dry state, Bihar is, in fact, a brewery hub with production units of Carlsberg and Cobra beer.

List of Bihar Holidays in 2019

Date Day Name of the festival
10 Feb Sunday Vasant Panchami
26 Jan Saturday Republic Day
21 Mar Thursday Doljatra
21 Mar Thursday Holi
22 Mar Friday Bihar Divas
14 Apr Sunday Ashoka's Birth Anniversary
14 Apr Sunday Ram Navami
17 Apr Wednesday Mahavir Jayanti
19 Apr Friday Good Friday
01 Apr Monday Bank holiday
14 Apr Sunday Ambedkar Jayanti
18 May Saturday Buddha Purnima
01 May Wednesday May Day
5 Jun Wednesday Eid ul Fitr
15 Aug Thursday Independence Day
12 Aug Monday Eid ul Juha
23 Aug Friday Janmashtami
10 Sep Tuesday Muharram
02 Oct Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
8 Oct Tuesday Dussehra
27 Oct Sunday Diwali
2 Nov Saturday Chatth Puja
25 Dec Wednesday Christmas Day

Bihar Bank Holidays in 2019

Date Day Holiday
26 Jan Saturday Republic Day
21 Mar Thursday Holi
22 Mar Friday Bihar Day
14 Apr Sunday Ram Navami
19 Apr Friday Good Friday
14 Apr Sunday Ambedkar Jayanti
1 May Wednesday May Day
5 Jun Wednesday Eid ul Fitr
15 Aug Thursday Independence Day
12 Aug Monday Bakrid
23 Aug Friday Janmashtami
10 Sep Tuesday Muharram
2 Oct Wednesday Gandhi Jayanti
7 Oct Monday Maha Navami
8 Oct Tuesday Vijay Dashami
27 Oct Sunday Diwali
2 Nov Saturday Chhath Puja
3 Nov Sunday Chhath Puja Holiday
25 Dec Wednesday Christmas Day

 

Note: Banks have holidays on second and fourth Saturdays too.

Popular Festivals/Holidays in Bihar

The state celebrates all major Indian festivals such as Dussehra or Durga Puja, Holi, Diwali, etc. Chhatth Puja is the biggest festival in Bihar. It is celebrated a week after Diwali and the Sun God is worshipped in this ritual. The people fast for the entire day and break the fast with sweets in the evening. Some female devotees are known to keep a fast for 36 hours, followed by a river-bathing ritual at dawn to worship the Sun God or Surya Dev as the sun rises.

The Importance of Knowing the Bihar Holidays in 2019

Apart from the three National Holidays, each state has different regional festivals and holidays. It is important to be aware of the holidays of each state as it can help one plan effectively. People living within the state can plan their vacations or travel itineraries ahead if they know about the holiday dates. People living outside the state can accordingly book their travel tickets if they know about the holiday dates of the state where he or she wishes to travel. Residents will get to know when the banks and the government offices will remain closed. Moreover, a little more knowledge is of no harm and it is always good to be enlightened.

Get your free Credit report that cost  Rs 1200 for FREE

1. Build your Credit Score

2. Reduce your Current Borrowing / EMI Costs