Manage Money

Holidays in Rajasthan in 2019

Holidays are happy times that call for relaxation, enjoyment and spending quality time with friends and family. India is known for its multitude of holidays. Being a secular country, India is home to several religions that celebrate different festivals. The holiday structure in government organizations differs from that of private companies. Sunday is a regular holiday for all workplaces. Some private companies have holidays on both Saturday and Sunday, whereas Government organizations are mostly open on Saturdays. Banks usually remain closed on two Saturdays in a month and remain open on the other two. There are three national holidays in India when all organizations remain closed; these are Republic day on 26th January, Independence Day on 15th August and Gandhi Jayanti on 2nd October. Apart from these, there are regional and restricted holidays which vary from state to state. This page aims to keep you informed about the different holidays in the state of Rajasthan.

About Rajasthan

Rajasthan is a north-western state in India. The Thar Desert occupies most of the state. Rajasthan shares a border with the neighboring country of Pakistan. The ruins of the Indus Valley Civilization can be found in Rajasthan, along with spectacular forts, palaces, and temples. With quite a few national parks, tiger reserves, and heritage sites, this state is a haven of tourism. The state is home to around 68 lakh residents who speak in various dialects of Marwari and Hindi.

List of Rajasthan Holidays in 2019

Date Day Name of the festival Comments
26 Jan Saturday Republic Day National holiday
4 Mar Monday Maha Shivratri  
21 Mar Thursday Holi  
14 Apr Sunday Ram Navami  
17 Apr Wednesday Mahavir Jayanti  
19 Apr Friday Good Friday  
01 Apr Monday Bank Holiday Account closing day
14 Apr Sunday Ambedkar Jayanti  
15 Aug Thursday Independence Day National holiday
12 Aug Monday Id ul Juha  
15 Aug Thursday Raksha Bandhan Rajasthan, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh
23 Aug Saturday Janmashtami  
8 Sep Sunday Ramdev Jayanti Rajasthan
10 Sep Tuesday Muharram Many states
02 Oct Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti National holiday
29 Sept Sunday Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti Rajasthan, Haryana, Punjab
7 Oct Monday Durgashtami Many states
8 Oct Tuesday Dussehra  
27 Oct Sunday Diwali Many states
28 Oct Monday Vishwakarma Day  
10 Nov Sunday Id-e-Milad  
12 Nov Tuesday Guru Nanak Birthday  
25 Dec Wednesday Christmas Day Many states

Rajasthan Bank Holidays in 2019

Date Day Comments
26 Jan Saturday Republic Day
21 Mar Thursday Holi
17 Apr Wednesday Mahavir Jayanti
5 Jun Wednesday Ramjaan
15 Aug Thursday Independence Day
17 Aug Saturday Parsi New Year
12 Aug Monday Bakrid
23 Aug Friday Janmashtami
10 Sep Tuesday Muharram
02 Oct Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
8 Oct Tuesday Vijay Dashami
27 Oct Sunday Diwali
12 Nov Monday Guru Nanak Jayanti
25 Dec Wednesday Christmas Day

 

Note: Banks have holidays on second and fourth Saturdays too.

Popular Festivals/Holidays in Rajasthan

The main festivals of Rajasthan are the Hindu festivals of Teej, Deepawali, Holi, Makar Sankranti, and Janmashtami as well as regional festivals like Gangaur, Shri Devnarayan Jayanti, Gogaji, etc. Rajasthan celebrates the desert festival once a year during winter. The locals dress up in costumes; they dance and sing ballads. Fairs are organized with snake puppeteers, charmers, acrobats, and folk performers.

The Importance of Knowing the Rajasthan Holidays in 2019

Apart from the three National Holidays, each state has different regional festivals and holidays. It is important to be aware of the holidays of each state as it can help one plan effectively. People living within the state can plan their vacations or travel itineraries ahead if they know about the holiday dates. People living outside the state can accordingly book their travel tickets if they know about the holiday dates of the state where he or she wishes to travel. Residents will get to know when the banks and the government offices will remain closed. Moreover, a little more knowledge is of no harm and it is always good to be enlightened.

 

 

Get your free Credit report that cost  Rs 1200 for FREE

1. Build your Credit Score

2. Reduce your Current Borrowing / EMI Costs