Manage Money

Holidays in Mizoram

Holidays are happy times that call for relaxation, enjoyment and spending quality time with friends and family. India is known for its multitude of holidays. Being a secular country, India is home to several religions that celebrate different festivals. The holiday structure in government organizations differs from that of private companies. Sunday is a regular holiday for all workplaces. Some private companies have holidays on both Saturday and Sunday, whereas Government organizations are mostly open on Saturdays. Banks usually remain closed on two Saturdays in a month and remain open on the other two. There are three national holidays in India when all organizations remain closed; these are Republic day on 26th January, Independence Day on 15th August and Gandhi Jayanti on 2nd October. Apart from these, there are regional and restricted holidays which vary from state to state. This page aims to keep you informed about the different holidays in the state of Mizoram.

About Mizoram

Mizoram is one of the seven sister states in the north-east of India. The name of this state literally translates to the "land of the Mizos" in the local language. Aizwal is the capital of this state. Mizoram has more than a million residents which make it one of the least populated states in India. The residents comprise several culturally or linguistically linked ethnic tribes. The state has a huge forest cover and is known for its biodiversity. The Mizo language has several dialects and it is widely used in the state, apart from English and occasionally Hindi. Agriculture, horticulture, forestry and several industries fuel the economic growth of the city.

Mizoram Holidays in 2019

Date Day Holiday Celebrated
1 Jan Tuesday New Year's Day In many states
2 Jan Wednesday New Year's Celebration Across Mizoram
11 Jan Friday Missionary Day Across Mizoram
26 Jan Saturday Republic Day Across the country
20 Feb Wednesday Mizoram State Day Across Mizoram
1 Mar Friday Chapchar Chut Across Mizoram
19 Apr Friday Good Friday In many states
1 Apr Monday Bank Holiday In many states
18 May Saturday Buddha Purnima In a few states
5 Jun Wednesday Eid-al Fitr In many states
30 Jun Sunday Remna Ni Across Mizoram
6 Jul Saturday MHIP Day Across Mizoram
15 Aug Thursday Independence Day Across India
12 Aug Monday Eid-al Juha In many states
2 Oct Tuesday Gandhi Jayanti Across India
8 Oct Tuesday Dussehra In many states
27 Oct Sunday Diwali In many states
24 Dec Tuesday Christmas Eve Meghalaya and Mizoram
25 Dec Wednesday Christmas In many states
26 Dec Thursday Boxing Day In a few states

Mizoram Bank Holidays in 2019

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan Tuesday New Year's Day
2 Jan Wednesday New Year's Celebration
11 Jan Friday Missionary Day
26 Jan Saturday Republic Day
20 Feb Wednesday State Day
21 Mar Thursday Holi
19 Apr Friday Good Friday
2 Apr Tuesday Annual closing of bank accounts
18 May Saturday Buddha Purnima
15 Jun Saturday YMA Day
30 Jun Sunday Remna Ni
15 Aug Thursday Independence Day
2 Oct Wednesday Gandhi Jayanti
7 Oct Monday Durga Puja
8 Oct Tuesday Dussehra
27 Oct Sunday Diwali
24 Dec Tuesday Christmas Eve
25 Dec Wednesday Christmas
26 Dec Thursday Christmas Festival

 

Note: Banks have holidays on second and fourth Saturdays too.

Popular Festivals/Holidays in Mizoram

Mizoram has a majorly Christian population and thus all Christian festivals are celebrated in the state along with traditional tribal customs and practices. Most of the festivals typically encompass the seasons or the various stages of Jhum cultivation. Mim Kut, Chapchar Kut, and Pawl Kut are some of these traditional festivals that are celebrated with many of Mizoram's intrinsic dance forms. These traditional dances are a major part of the Mizo festivals.

The Importance of Knowing the Mizoram Holidays in 2019

Apart from the three National Holidays, each state has different regional festivals and holidays. It is important to be aware of the holidays of each state as it can help one plan effectively. People living within the state can plan their vacations or travel itineraries ahead if they know about the holiday dates. People living outside the state can accordingly book their travel tickets if they know about the holiday dates of the state where he or she wishes to travel. Residents will get to know when the banks and the government offices will remain closed. Moreover, a little more knowledge is of no harm and it is always good to be enlightened.

Get your free Credit report that cost  Rs 1200 for FREE

1. Build your Credit Score

2. Reduce your Current Borrowing / EMI Costs