Manage Money

List of Holidays in Telangana in India

Holidays are happy times that call for relaxation, enjoyment and spending quality time with friends and family. India is known for its multitude of holidays. Being a secular country, India is home to several religions that celebrate different festivals. The holiday structure in government organizations differs from that of private companies. Sunday is a regular holiday for all workplaces. Some private companies have holidays on both Saturday and Sunday, whereas Government organizations are mostly open on Saturdays. Banks usually remain closed on two Saturdays in a month and remain open on the other two. There are three national holidays in India when all organizations remain closed; these are Republic day on 26th January, Independence Day on 15th August and Gandhi Jayanti on 2nd October. Apart from these, there are regional and restricted holidays which vary from state to state. This page aims to keep you informed about the different holidays in the state of Telangana.

About Telangana

Telangana is the youngest Indian state, carved out of Andhra Pradesh in 2014. It is a South Indian state. Hyderabad is the capital city of Telangana which it shares with its parent state of Andhra Pradesh. It is located on the Deccan plateau and is known for its historical monuments from the ancient era. The Charminar, Golconda Fort, Warrangal fort, Bhongir fort, etc are the interesting spots of tourist attraction.

List of Telangana Holidays in 2019

Date Day Festival/Occasion
01 Jan Tuesday New Year Day
15 Jan Tuesday Pongal
26 Jan Saturday Republic Day
17 Apr Wednesday Mahavir Jayanti
14 Apr Sunday Shri Rama Navami
19 Apr Friday Good Friday
5 Apr Friday Birthday of Babu Jagjivan Ram
5 Jun Wednesday Eid ul Fitr
29 Jul Monday Bonalu
15 Aug Thursday Independence day
12 Aug Monday Eid ul Azha
24 Aug Saturday Sri Krishna Janmashtami
2 Sep Monday Vinayaka Chaturthi
10 Sep Tuesday Muharram
02 Oct Wednesday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanthi
28 Sep Saturday Bathukamma Beginning Day
7 Oct Monday Mahanavami
8 Oct Tuesday Vijay Dashami
27 Oct Sunday Deepavali
10 Nov Monday Eid Miladun Nabi
11 Nov Monday Birthday of Guru Nanak
25 Dec Wednesday Christmas
26 Dec Thursday Boxing Day

Telangana Bank Holidays in 2019

Date Day Holiday
15 Jan Tuesday Makara Sankranti
26 Jan Saturday Republic Day
17 Apr Wednesday Mahavir Jayanti
21 Mar Thursday Holi
6 Apr Saturday Ugadi
14 Apr Sunday Ram Navami
19 Apr Friday Good Friday
05 Apr Friday Babu Jagjivan Ram Jayanti
11 Apr Thursday Election in state
14 Apr Sunday Birthday of Ambedkar
01 May Wednesday May Day
5 Jun Wednesday Id ul Fitr
6 Jun Thursday Id ul Fitr Holiday
29 Jul Monday Bonalu
15 Aug Thursday Independence Day
12 Aug Monday Bakrid
23 Aug Friday Janmashtami
2 Sep Monday Ganesh Chaturthi
10 Sep Tuesday Muharram
02 Oct Wednesday Gandhi Jayanthi
28 Sep Saturday First Day of Bathukamma
7 Oct Monday Maha Ashtami
8 Oct Tuesday Vijaya Dashami
27 Oct Sunday Deepavali
10 Nov Sunday Eid e Milad
11 Nov Monday Guru Nanak Jayanthi
25 Dec Wednesday Christmas Day

Note: Banks have holidays on second and fourth Saturdays too.

Popular Festivals/Holidays in Telangana

Telangana's culture is quite similar to that of Andhra Pradesh and thus the state mostly celebrates all popular Telugu festivals. Telangana doesn't only share its capital city with Andhra Pradesh but also shares its culture and festivals. Telangana celebrates Ugadi, which is the Telugu New Year. Pongal is another popular festival celebrated in the month of January during Makar Sankranti. Telangana has a few exclusive festivals that are not celebrated in AP. Bonalu and Bathkamma are those festivals and the state celebrates them with pomp and grandeur.

The Importance of Knowing the Telangana Holidays in 2019

Apart from the three National Holidays, each state has different regional festivals and holidays. It is important to be aware of the holidays of each state as it can help one plan effectively. People living within the state can plan their vacations or travel itineraries ahead if they know about the holiday dates. People living outside the state can accordingly book their travel tickets if they know about the holiday dates of the state where he or she wishes to travel. Residents will get to know when the banks and the government offices will remain closed. Moreover, a little more knowledge is of no harm and it is always good to be enlightened.

 

 

Get your free Credit report that cost  Rs 1200 for FREE

1. Build your Credit Score

2. Reduce your Current Borrowing / EMI Costs