Manage Money

What is Toll Tax in India ?
Total rating: 0

The tax which is paid at the toll plaza on highways in different states across India is Toll tax. The rate of Toll tax differs on every toll plaza, based on a certain distance of the road, they are accountable for. Toll tax is exempted for certain people such as VIPs or government officials who are listed below:

  1. President of India;

  2. Prime-Minister of India;

  3. Vice-President of India;

  4. Chief Justice of India;

  5. Governor of any State in India;

  6. Speaker of the House of People;

  7. Cabinet Minister of the Union

  8. Judge of the Supreme Court;

  9. Governor of any State in India;

  10. Minister of State of the Union;

  11. Member of Parliament;

  12. Lieutenant Governor of any Union Territory in India;

  13. Chief of Staff holding a full General or equivalent rank;

  14. The Chairman of the Legislative Council of a State;

  15. Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of any State in India;

  16. Chief Justice of a High Court;

  17. Judge of a High Court;

  18. Army Commander or Vice-Chief of Army Staff and equivalent in other services;

  19. Foreign dignitary on State visit;

  20. Chief Secretary to a State Government within concerned State;

  21. Secretary to the Government of India;

  22. Secretary, Council of States;

  23. Secretary, House of People;

  24. The Member of Legislative Assembly of a State in the state premises, with an identity proof.

  25. The Member of Legislative Council in the borders of their respective State, with identity proof.

  26. Awardees of the following recognition, with an adequate identity proof:

  27. Param Vir Chakra, Ashok Chakra,

  28. Maha Vir Chakra, Kirti Chakra,

  29. Vir Chakra,

  30. Shaurya Chakra.

There are some vehicles too, which are exempted from Toll tax:

  1. The vehicle which comes under the Ministry of Defence or carrying a passenger from Ministry of Defence who is eligible for tax exemption based on the provision of Indian Toll(Army & Airforce Toll act,1901) laws including the Navy as well.

  2. Central and State armed forces in uniform including para-military forces and police;

  3. An executive Magistrate;

  4. The vehicle belonging to the fire-fighting Department or organisation;

  5. The vehicle belonging to the National Highways Authority of India;

  6. The vehicle belonging to any other Government agency or organisation for purposes of survey, inspection, operation or construction and maintenance of national highways;

  7. The vehicle used as ambulance;

  8. The vehicle used as funeral van