Manage Finances


E-payment is the online method of payment of direct taxes introduced by the Tax Department of India. It’s a part of the initiative of Income tax department to receive and maintain record of direct taxation online via Online Tax Accounting System (OLTAS). E-payment facilitates the payment of direct taxes online by taxpayers. In order to avail the benefits of e-payment, the taxpayer must have a netbanking account with any of the authorised banks.

How to make e-payment

  1. Visit (tax information network initiated by the income tax department) or visit the official website of Income tax department and select ‘tax services’ on the top right section of the webpage. After navigating to the section on the right in tax services, select tax information and services>tax payment>pay taxes online.

  2. Select the relevant challan i.e, ITNS 280, ITNS 281, ITNS 282, ITNS 283 etc, as applicable

  3. Enter the PAN/TAN details.

  4. Online check regarding the validity of the PAN/TAN details initiated.

  5. If the PAN/TAN details provided by you are valid, then fill up other details on the challan like- accounting head under which payment is to be made, name and address of TAN and the account number from which payment is to be made.

  6. Click on submit.

  7. Check the details on the challan and click on confirm.

  8. Once , you’ll be redirected to the netbanking website of your bank.

  9. Login to your netbanking account by using your user ID and password.

  10. Enter your payment details on the bank’s website.

  11. On successful payment, you’ll be receiving a challan counterfoil with details like CIN and bank’s name through which e-payment has been made. (The challan counterfoil is a proof of your e-payment, so you must keep it safe!)

  12. Take a print out of the duplicate challan for future reference.

Get your free Credit report that cost Rs 1200 for FREE

1. Build your Credit Score

2. Reduce your Current Borrowing / EMI Costs

Benefits of e-payment:

  1. Convenient and easy procedure.

  2. E-payment services are available 24*7*365.

  3. The challan counterfoil is generated within seconds of payment of tax.

  4. Paperless procedure with minimum operational costs.

List of banks that are authorised for e-payment

  1. Allahabad Bank

  2. Andhra Bank

  3. Axis Bank

  4. Bank of Baroda

  5. Bank of India

  6. Bank of Maharashtra

  7. Central Bank

  8. Central Bank of India

  9. Corporation Bank

  10. Dena Bank

  11. HDFC Bank

  12. ICICI Bank

  13. IDBI Bank

  14. Indian Bank

  15. Indian Overseas Bank

  16. Jammu & Kashmir Bank

  17. Oriental Bank of Commerce

  18. Punjab and Sind Bank

  19. Punjab National Bank

  20. State Bank of India

  21. Syndicate Bank

  22. UCO Bank

  23. Union Bank of India

  24. United Bank of India

  25. Vijaya Bank

Taxes which can be paid online

  1. Income tax

  2. Equalization levy

  3. Corporate tax

  4. Tax collected at source (TCS)

  5. Tax deducted from source (TDS)

  6. Securities transactions tax

  7. Wealth tax

Digital Signature

A digital signature certificate is an online certification given by the certifying authorities validating the identity of a person. Digital signature certificates make use of encryption methods to certify the credentials of the user considered to be the electronic equivalent of the physical certificates.It contains the digital signature of the certificate-issuing authority Just like the driver’s license is a physical proof which identifies that a person can legally drive in a country, a digital signature certificate can also be used to prove someone’s identity, access information or service over the internet and sign the documents electronically. DSC is considered to be a safer option than traditional certificates since they are based on public key cryptography.

How to apply for digital signature certificate

  1. Offline mode for applying DSC: Digital signature certificate applicants can approach the certifying authority directly with the following documents:

    1. Proof of identity

    2. Valid and active PAN card issued by the income tax department

    3. Proof of residence-A self-attested copy of the latest water/electricity/power/telephone bill or voter’s ID/credit card or passport.

  2. Online mode for applying DSC: Digital security certificates can also be obtained online through Aadhar eKYC based authentication. In this method, the applicant doesn’t need to provide any additional documents.

  3. A letter issued by the authorized bank and certified by the bank manager containing personal information of the digital signature certificate, can also be used by the applicant to apply for issuance of DSC.

Get your free Credit report that cost Rs 1200 for FREE

1. Build your Credit Score

2. Reduce your Current Borrowing / EMI Costs

Issuers of digital security certificate:

A licensed Certifying Authority(CA) can issue a digital security certificate. CA is an authority which has been granted the license to issue a digital security certificate under the section 24 of the Indian IT Act.

One can produce class 2 or 3 certificates from any of these certifying authorities-

  1. National Informatic center (NIC)

  2. IDRBT certifying authority

  3. Safescrypt CA services/ Sify communications limited

  4. (n) code solutions CA

  5. e-Mudhra

  6. TATA consultancy services

  7. CDAC

  8. NSDL

  9. Capricorn

Types of digital signature certificates:

There are basically three types of digital security certificates- Class 1, class 2 and class 3 with varying levels of security.

  1. Class 1 digital security certificates should be issued to individuals/private subscribers. These certificates can be used to verify a user’s name and email address. Class 1 certificates are more beneficial for private users than business/companies.

  2. Class 2 certificates is issued for both private individuals and business personnels’ use. These certificates confirm that the information provided by the applicant doesn’t conflict with well-recognized consumer database.

  3. Class 3 certificates are issued to both individuals as well as organisations. These are high-end security certificates, primarily meant for e-commerce applications and are issued to a person only on their physical appearance before the certifying authorities.

Aadhar eKYC

Digital security certificates are issued using Aadhar eKYC based on either OTP authentication or the biometric subscription of the subscriber. Certificates based on Aadhar eKYC confirms that the information provided by the subscriber on the digital security certificate conforms with the personal information retained in Aadhar databases.

Benefits of Digital signature certificate

  1. Cost and time are dramatically reduced with the help of digital signature certificate. Instead of signing the documents physically and scanning them to send via email, it’s better to sign the PDF digitally. A digital signature certificate holder doesn’t need to be physically present to authorize the business.

  2. Data that are signed digitally cannot be altered, which makes the digital signature certificate more convenient and secure option than physically signing a document. Hence by using the digital signature certification method, the owner’s data integrity is always intact.

  3. Digitally signed documents ensure the signer’s authenticity. The digitally signed documents are the proof that the document has not been forged/ manipulated.

Get your free Credit report that cost Rs 1200 for FREE

1. Build your Credit Score

2. Reduce your Current Borrowing / EMI Costs Protection Status